Short-Short 14: Addie and Me

The old lady had asked for my window seat on the train, said she liked the scenery. She kept talking, rambling, really, after she sat down, cupping one arthritic hand in the other. I kept an eye on my backpack, making sure it wouldn’t topple off the seat and onto her foot.

“What are you reading?” she asked.

I closed the cover carefully and put the book in my bag. “Oh, nothing.” It was late afternoon and the sun was pouring into the train. “It’s nice weather we’re having.” I figured one conversation was as good as another. I didn’t have the heart to tell her it was As I Lay Dying.

-CP

1 Response to “Short-Short 14: Addie and Me”


  1. 1 GHH March 10, 2009 at 21:24

    I like this one. I like the simplicity of it. I like the sense details and the honesty of it.


Leave a Reply

Copyright Information

All the original material belongs, in full, to its author. Any requests for republication should be addressed to the author or the editors.

Join the mailing list!

Get a story a day: ficshun.blog@gmail.com

